# **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No.ECI/PN/47/2023

Dated:8th August, 2023

### PRESS NOTE

Subject: Schedule for Bye-election to 7 (Seven) Legislative Assemblies of Jharkhand, Tripura, Kerala, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand – reg.

\*\*\*\*

The Commission has decided to hold bye-election to fill vacancies in 7(Seven) Assembly Constituencies of 6 States i.e. Jharkhand, Kerala, Tripura, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, the list of constituencies is as follows -

S1. No.	Name of State	Assembly Constituency No. & Name	Reason of vacancy
1.	Jharkhand	33-Dumri	Death of Shri Jagarnath Mahto
2.	Kerala	98-Puthuppally	Death of Shri Oommen Chandy
3.	Tripura	20-Boxanagar	Death of Shri Samsul Haque
4.	Tripura	23-Dhanpur	Resignation of Smt Pratima Bhoumik
5.	West Bengal	15-Dhupguri (SC)	Death of Shri Bishnu Pada Ray
6.	Uttar Pradesh	354-Ghosi	Resignation of Shri Dara Singh Chauhan
7.	Uttarakhand	47-Bageshwar (SC)	Death of Shri Chandan Ram Das

Schedule for the bye election is as follows:

Schedule for Bye-election for Assembly Constituencies			
Poll Events	Schedule		
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification	10 <sup>th</sup> August, 2023 (Thursday)		

D

Last Date for making nominations	17 <sup>th</sup> August, 2023 (Thursday)
Date for the Scrutiny of Nominations	18 <sup>th</sup> August, 2023 (Friday)
Last Date for Withdrawal of	21st August, 2023
candidatures	(Monday)
Date of Poll	5 <sup>th</sup> September, 2023
	(Tuesday)
Date of Counting	8th September, 2023
	(Friday)
Date before which election shall be	10 <sup>th</sup> September, 2023
completed	(Sunday)

### 1. ELECTORAL ROLLS

The Electoral Rolls for the aforesaid Assembly Constituencies finally published on 5<sup>th</sup> January, 2023 with reference to 01.01.2023 as the qualifying date and supplements of subsequent qualifying dates, namely 1<sup>st</sup> April & 1<sup>st</sup> July, 2023, updated till the last date of making nominations will be used for these elections.

# 2. <u>ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES (EVMs) & VVPATs</u>

The Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the byeelections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

#### 3. IDENTIFICATION OF VOTERS

Electoral Photo Identity Card (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, any of the below mentioned identification documents can also be shown at the polling station:

- i. Aadhar Card,
- ii. MNREGA Job Card.
- iii. Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office,
- iv. Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour,
- v. Driving License,
- vi. PAN Card,
- vii. Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR,
- viii. Indian Passport,
- ix. Pension document with photograph,
- x. Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies, and



- xi. Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs.
- xii. Unique Disability ID (UDID) Card, M/o Social Justice & Empowerment, Government of India

# 4. MODEL CODE OF CONDUCT

The Model Code of Conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Assembly constituency going for election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission's instruction No. 437/6/1NST/2016-CCS, dated 29<sup>th</sup> June, 2017 (available on the commission's website).

## 5. INFORMATION REGARDING CRIMINAL ANTECEDENTS

Candidates with criminal antecedents are required to publish information in this regard in newspapers and through Television channels on three occasions during the campaign period. A political party that sets up candidates with criminal antecedents is also required to publish information about criminal background of its candidates, both on its website and also in newspapers and Television channels **on three occasions**.

Commission vide its letter No. 3/4/2019/SDR/Vol. IV dated 16<sup>th</sup> September, 2020 has directed that the period specified will be decided with three blocks in the following manner, so that electors have sufficient time to know about the background of such candidates:

- a. Within first 4 days of withdrawal.
- b. Between next 5th 8th days.
- From 9<sup>th</sup> day till the last day of campaign (the second day prior to date of poll)

(Illustration: If the last date for withdrawal is  $10^{th}$  of the month and poll is on  $24^{th}$  of the Month, the first block for publishing of declaration shall be done between  $11^{th}$  and  $14^{th}$  of the Month, second and third blocks shall be between  $15^{th}$  and  $18^{th}$  and  $19^{th}$  and  $22^{nd}$  of that Month, respectively.)

This requirement is in pursuance of the judgment of the Hon'ble Supreme Court in Writ Petition (C) No. 784 of 2015 (Lok Prahari Vs. Union of India & Others) and Writ Petition (Civil) No. 536 of 2011 (Public Interest Foundation & Ors. Vs. Union of India & Anr.).



This information will also be available on an App titled, 'know your candidates'.

# 6. COVID RELATED ARRANGEMENT DURING BYE-ELECTION

The Commission has issued COVID guidelines, October, 2022 on 14.10.2022 which are available on the Commission's website <a href="https://eci.gov.in/files/file/14492-covid-guidelines-for-general-electionbye-elections-to-legislative-assemblies-reg/">https://eci.gov.in/files/file/14492-covid-guidelines-for-general-electionbye-elections-to-legislative-assemblies-reg/</a> to be followed during conduct of elections.

(SANJEEV KUMAR PRASAD) SECRETARY